Pivot Point BME

Back to school together with Pivot Point

Pivot Point helps people with a passion for hair. They assist hairdresser salons and hairdresser schools to get the very best out of their organization. In the Spring of 2017 Pivot Point approach us with an urgent logistical challenge. It was urgent because the most busy months of the year were coming – and their existing logistical solution was no longer fitting the bill.

The basic challenge of this case was clear. Can we ensure the assembly of a large volume of parcels in a very short timeframe? Yes of course we can!

After a thorough analysis we identified the following logistical challenges and pain points:

  • 70% of the order volume is centralized in the months of August and September;
  • A significant part of the orders is delivered straight to the students;
  • Another large part of the orders must be supplied to the hairdresser schools but the orders have to be identifiable down to individual student level;
  • Kunnen orders op correct afgesproken momenten afgeleverd Can orders be delivered at pre-agreed dates and times? Because a lot of schools and teachers need to ensure that someone is onsite during the months of August and September to ensure order receipt;
  • Pivot Point needed a fast and good insight in its stock levels.

STOCK LEVEL IN THE WMS (WAREHOUSE MANAGEMENT SYSTEM)

All Pivot Point products were equipped with a barcode – that already made things easier.

At the moment of the first inbound operation, we had helped the Pivot Point staff to appose barcodes on each product. That allowed us to enter the first batch of products very easily and swiftly into the system.

For subsequent deliveries, Pivot Point had made sure that these would already be pre-equipped with a barcode. In this way our WMS system could very easily distinguish between individual products in stock, and assembled “packs” or end products.

ASSEMBLY

To allow for a swift assembly of the packs, we needed to know what a pack would be composed of. Once this was set up inside the WMS, we were able to very easily assemble the loose pieces of stock into one assembled end product. Despite the short time between inbound delivery of the individual products and the moment of dispatch of the orders!

Pivot Point

CENTRALIZING VOLUME

The Moment of Truth. There was no better description for the months of August and September. In the meantime we know the end result. We were able to process a volume that tripled in size, without any impact on quality. BME happy, client happy! This was only possible thanks to a good preparation with the customer, good insight into procedures and a strong technology environment.

What was also important were the fast and short communication lines between Pivot Point and ourselves.

CONSOLIDATION

Very rapidly we faced a new, bigger challenge. Pivot Point asked us how we would supply to the schools.

The challenge was that the contents of the entire order (pallet size) had to be identifiable down to student level. And the schools had to receive the pallets at a pre-agreed date.

Getting delivery on an exact date in place was no problem. We just needed to add delivery dates into the system. Granular identification of all orders that went to one single school was, instead, a challenge!

The solution: we set up our system to behave as if it did not have to consolidate the individual orders. But at the packing table we programmed a trigger to consolidate – and from the packing table orders were dispatched to a specific consolidation zone.

CONCLUSION

At the end of October 2017 we evaluated the logistical operations together with Pivot Point. There are still opportunities for optimization but both sides gave positive feedback. The schools were very satisfied with the timely and correct deliveries. This reduced the stress on Pivot Point’s organization. Everybody happy!

Rentrée scolaire avec Pivot Point

Pivot Point est aux côtés des personnes passionnées par les cheveux. Pivot Point assiste les salons et écoles de coiffure pour obtenir les meilleurs résultats au sein de leurs organisations. Dans le printemps de 2017, Pivot Point nous a approché avec un défi logistique urgent. « Urgent » puisque les mois les plus chargés de l’année s’approchaient – et la solution logistique existante de Pivot Point n’était plus à la hauteur des besoins.

Le défi essentiel de ce cas d’étude était clair. Pouvons-nous assurer l’assemblage d’un très grand volume de paquets dans un laps de temps extrêmement court ? Oui nous le pouvons !

Après une analyse approfondie, nous avons identifié les défis logistiques et problématiques suivantes : 

  • 70% du volume de commande est centralisé dans les mois d’août et septembre ; 
  • Une partie significative des commandes et livrée directement aux étudiants ; 
  • Mais une autre grande partie des commandes doit être livrée aux écoles de coiffure – tout en permettant une identification des commandes jusqu’au niveau individuel de l’étudiant ; 
  • Les commandes peuvent-elles être livrées à des dates et horaires prédéfinies ? Puisque beaucoup d’écoles et d’enseignants doivent assurer une présence physique exceptionnelle pendant les mois d’août et septembre pour assurer la réception de la commande ; 
  • Pivot Point avait besoin d’une bonne compréhension et visibilité sur ses niveaux de stock.

NIVEAU DE STOCK DANS LE WMS (WAREHOUSE MANAGEMENT SYSTEM)

Tous les produits Pivot Point étaient équipés d’un code bar – cela permettait de rendre les choses plus faciles. 

Au moment de la première opération de réception de produits, nous avons assisté l’équipe Pivot Point à apposer des codes bar sur tous les produits. Ceci a permis de rentrer le premier « batch » de produits dans le WMS (système de gestion de l’entrepôt) de façon très facile et rapide. 

Pour les livraisons suivantes, Pivot Point a assuré que celles-ci seraient déjà pré-équipés d’un code bar. Ce faisant, notre système WMS était en mesure de facilement distinguer les produits individuels en stock des produits finaux, à savoir les “packs” assemblés.

ASSEMBLAGE

Afin de permettre un assemblage fluide des packs, nous avions besoin de connaître la composition exacte d’un pack. Une fois ces informations rentrées dans le WMS, nous étions en mesure de très facilement assembler les pièces individuelles en stock dans les produits finis assembles. Et ce nonobstant le délais court entre la réception de la merchandise et le moment de l’envoi des commandes!

Pivot Point

CENTRALISER LE VOLUME 

Le moment de la vérité. Il n’y avait pas de meilleure description pour les mois d’août et septembre. Entretemps nous connaissons les résultats. Nous étions en mesure de gérer un volume de vente qui a triple, sans aucun impact sur la qualité. Le client content, BME content ! Ceci était seulement possible grâce à une bonne préparation avec le client, une bonne compréhension des procédures ainsi qu’un environnement technologique très fort.

Ce qui était également important étaient les lignes de communication courtes et rapides entre Pivot Point et BME.

CONSOLIDATION 

Très rapidement nous étions face à un défi nouveau plus grand. Pivot Point nous a demandé comment nous pouvions aussi ravitailler les écoles.

Le défi était que le contenue de la commande entière (ayant la taille d’une palette) devait être identifiable jusqu’au niveau de l’étudiant individuel. Et les écoles devaient recevoir les palettes à des dates prédéfinies. 

Assurer la livraison à une date exacte n’était pas un problème. Tout ce qu’il fallait était l’addition des dates de livraison dans notre système. Par contre, l’identification granulaire de toutes les commandes envoyées à une seule école, voilà le challenge !

La solution: nous avons programmé notre système pour traiter les commandes individuelles comme si elles ne devaient pas être consolidées. Mais à la table d’emballage nous avons programmé un mécanisme de consolidation – depuis la table d’emballage les commandes étaient dispatchées vers une zone dédiée et spécifique de consolidation.

CONCLUSION

A la fin d ‘octobre 2017 nous avons évalué les opérations logistiques ensemble avec Pivot Point. Il y a toujours des opportunités d’optimisation mais les deux côtés on donné un feedback positif.  Les écoles étaient très satisfaites des livraisons correctes et ponctuelles. Ceci a réduit le stress sur l’organisation de Pivot Point. Everybody happy!